You are here: Home / CAP Poker Tournament Raided by Police in Barcelona

CAP Poker Tournament Raided by Police in Barcelona

Barcelona
Sep 28 2008 - 11:17am

According to numerous reports, an online gambling affiliate convention poker tournament has been shut down by Barcelona police.

Police raided the Hotel Princesa in Barcelona Spain this weekend where the Casino Affiliate Programs (CAP) poker tournament was taking place.  (see news here)

All gambling equipment was confiscated.  Gambling911.com was also being told that the organizers were detained. 

The said tournament was the Affiliate Series of Poker. Last year, Bahamian authorities also prevented CAP from holding a tournament at an originally scheduled locale. Organizers had to find a "secret" place in which to hold the tournament.

Hundreds of online gambling industry personnel were present in Barcelona for the CAP conference though it was unclear how many were in attendance at the actual tournament.

Comments

add and correction

in attendance at the actual tournament were 35 players left (out of 42) and the organizers were NOT detained..

Sure were

You seriously think the police came and didn't talk to the organizers? hahaha Alex (with CAP) was shaking so hard we thought he was going into convulsions.

MATCHBOOK.COM

Does anyone know what happened to matchbook.com? I have an account with them (for about one year now). I was placing some wagers tonight (about one hour ago) and suddenly their website went down and a webpage came up that stated this site was under construction and something about registering Domains. I tried phoning matchbook but they were closed. What really worries me is I tried emailing them at customer support and accounts, which are two know email addresses that they have and encourage their customers to use. Both of their email addresses I sent emails to were kicked back to my email account as undeliverable! If anyone knows what is going on, please post a reply. This worries me as I have a fairly large balance with them. See if you can access their website which is www.matchbook.com Thank you.

Matchbook.com

I can't get the site to load either. I'm in the UK so shouldn't be any IP issues from here. Not good.

Matchbook.com

site is working for me just fine. probably has something to do with domain issue this web site is reporting on in Kentucky.

Gambling News

User login