PokerStars World Championship of Online Poker 2013 Prize Pool Surpasses $62 million

Written by:
Press Release
Published on:
PokerStars World Championship of Online Poker 2013 Prize Pool Surpasses $62 mill

The PokerStars World Championship of Online Poker 2013 concludes later today with the $5,200 No Limit Hold’em Main Event and $215 No Limit Hold’em [8-Max] tournaments playing to a finish.

This year’s WCOOP has seen big increases on last year’s totals with an overall prize pool of $62,840,167 – $6,840,167 more than the $55,522,590 awarded last year – and a $10,665,000 Main Event prize pool. That equates to a $1,540,000 increase on last year’s Main Event prize pool, with 2,133 players entering in 2013 compared to 1,825 in 2012 – a significant rise of 308.

The total number of tournament entrants across the series was 144,945, up nearly 15% on last year’s total of 126,041, as WCOOP 2013 cemented its reputation as being the must-play online poker festival of the year.

This year’s festival prize pool is the second richest WCOOP ever – just less than $800,000 shy of the all-time record, which was set by the 2010 World Championship when $63,157,150 was awarded to PokerStars players.

Names befitting a World Championship - 
Tonight (September 30, 2013) sees the finale of the richest and most prestigious online poker festival of the year, with 296 players still vying for the first prize of $1,877,573.25. A total of 243 places will be paid, with the minimum payout being $12,798 – more than double the $5,200 buy-in.

The players who make it to Day 2 of this tournament are the best of the best – those who are able to compete at the highest level, playing deep-stacked tournament poker against the game’s elite, and will be gunning for the title and prestige that comes with it just as much as the huge sums of money up for grabs.

A host of Team PokerStars Pros and Team Online members are still in the hunt for the World Championship bracelet, including Jason Mercier (image attached), Jake Cody, Liv Boeree (image attached), Vicky Coren, Humberto Brenes, Mickey ‘mement_mori’ Petersen, and Shane ‘shaniac’ Schleger. Other big names still in with a shout, include Andrey ‘Kroko-dill’ Zaichenko, Shaun ‘shaundeeb’ Deeb, Mike ‘Timex’ McDonald, Steve ‘Mr. Tim Caum’ O’Dwyer, and Jon ‘Pearljammer’ Turner.

Play resumes at 14.30 ET (20.30 CET) – just log on to PokerStars and rail the action as the remaining players battle to win the biggest prizes in online poker and one of the most important titles of the poker year.

Read More at here