Leonid Bilokur Wins $1,134,930 at the 2012 PCA $25K High Roller Event

Written by:
Published on:
Leonid Bilokur Wins $1,134,930 at the 2012 PCA $25K High Roller Event

Ukrainian-born Leonid "Alexey" Bilokur has won the 2012 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure $25k High Roller event for $1,143,930.

Bilokur, 37, beat Team PokerStars Pro Jonathan Duhamel heads-up to take down the 2012 PCA High Roller title, coveted trophy and stunning €10,000 bracelet from Official High Roller Bracelet Sponsor Shamballa Jewels. A total of 141 players entered the event – with seven re-entries - creating a total prize pool of $3,626,000.

Bilokur’s previous biggest cash before today was winning a €2,000 side event for €174,000 at EPT Berlin in Season 6. Here in the PCA High Roller, he was up against some of the best players in the world – and a quality final table that included online tournament specialist Jason Koon, high roller Isaac Haxton, PokerStars Team Online’s Randy Lew and veteran pro Govert Metaal.

Although Bilokur took the title, it was Duhamel who stole the show at this year’s PCA, earning himself more than $1.2 million in the process. The 2010 World Champion was in superb form from the get-go, finishing fourth for $313,600 in the three-day $100,000 Super High Roller event (the first event of the festival), fifth in a $5,000 NL Turbo event for $17,990, first in the $5,000 NL 8-Max event for $239,830 and now a runner-up finish in the High Roller for an additional $634,550.

This year’s PCA has featured more than 40 events and attracted thousands of poker players from all over the world. As well as the $25,000 High Roller event, the last day of this year’s ten-day PCA festival featured numerous events including the final of the PokerStars World Cup of Poker VIII (won by Peru), the $5,000 Heads-Up Championships (won by Scott Seiver) and £1,000 Ladies Event (won by Kathy Saraf). Shawn Buchanan topped a record-breaking 87-strong field to win the $10,000 High Roller Turbo.

In all, this year’s PCA events have attracted more than 5,500 entries and awarded more than $22 million in prize money. Both the Main Event final and High Roller final were broadcast live on PokerStars.tv with expert commentary from James Hartigan, Joe Stapleton and members of Team PokerStars Pro.

1 Leonid Bilokur Ukraine $1,134,930 
2 Jonathan Duhamel Canada Team PokerStars Pro $634,550 
3 Isaac Haxton USA $380,730 
4 Jason Koon USA $271,950 
5 Nicolas Fierro Chile $217,560 
6 Govert Metaal Netherlands $181,300 
7 Michael Telker USA $145,040 
8 Randy Lew USA PokerStars Team Online $108,780