Demo Kirlopoulos Wins 2011 Punta Cana Classic: Canada Takes Crown Again

Written by:
C Costigan
Published on:
Demo Kirlopoulos Wins 2011 Punta Cana Classic:

It was Evan Mauer vs. Demo Kirlopoulos or USA vs. Canada at this year’s Punta Cana Poker Classic following the eliminations of Greg Bastin in 3rd place (from the USA).

The final was decided at almost exactly 1 AM EST.

This matchup lasted for a number of hours after the third elimination was determined.

Demo Kirlopoulos: 5,100,000

Evan Mauer: 3,300,000

Kirlopoulos is one happy camper, having ultimately won the tournament, leaving with $136,949 and surviving a field of 415.

In its second year, the Punta Cana Poker Classic has crowned two Canadian players.  Peter Cross was the reigning champion and in attendance to see a fellow Canadian win.

- Chris Costigan, Publisher