23 Players Committed to Playing in WSOP $1 Million Buy-In Big One for One Drop

Written by:
Press Release
Published on:
23 Players Committed to Playing in WSOP $1 Million Buy-In Big One for One Drop

Las Vegas, Nevada – Despite the event being more than three months away, seats are fast filling for the second running of The BIG ONE for ONE DROP, the $1 million buy-in No-Limit Hold’em charity poker tournament being held as part of the 45th Annual World Series of Poker (WSOP) in Las Vegas, with 23 entries already confirmed to participate.

To date, organizers reached out to original participants to gauge interest, and the positive memories of 2012 sparked a snowball effect as nearly half the original contingent quickly confirmed their participation for the 2014 iteration of the event. Outreach will now begin to new players, many of whom have already begun expressing their interest.

The inaugural event sold out in 2012 as 48 businessmen, philanthropists and card sharps competed in the ground-breaking event that awarded winner Antonio Esfandiari a record first place prize of $18,346,673 and a platinum WSOP bracelet – while more than $5.3 million was raised for the ONE DROP charitable organization. (www.ONEDROP.org).

Scroll Down for More...

This year’s event will take place over three days, from June 29 to July 1, 2014.

After the inaugural event sold out, organizers have added one additional table to the 2014 event, allowing for up to 56 entrants to take to the felt. (All tables are played eight-handed).

With the new 56 player cap, the first place prize has the potential to reach $20,000,000 if every seat is filled. Additionally, the odds of cashing are better than a typical poker tournament, with an expected 16-20% of entrants receiving a portion of the prize pool, depending on the final number of entries.

The event will be reserved on a first-come first-serve basis, with those providing a deposit guaranteeing their seat. The winner will also receive a special edition platinum WSOP bracelet by famed jeweler Richard Mille. The event is open to anyone 21 years or older.

“I was thrilled when I got the call from the WSOP saying that with the commitments of the 2012 players alone, enough seats had been filled that the BIG ONE is a platinum bracelet event once again,” said Mille. “We are hard at work creating a unique new bracelet. It’s a wonderful event with the added benefit of giving back, something we strongly believe in.”

“I can’t wait to defend my title,” said defending champion, Esfandiari. “The event was life-changing, but so was my trip to El Salvador after it with the ONE DROP organization to see first hand what a difference the money raised from this event can do for those in dire need of help.”

The buy-in for The BIG ONE for ONE DROP at $1 million, remains the largest ever for a poker event. There will be no rake or house fees to operate the event, and $111,111 of each buy-in is taken out as a charitable donation to ONE DROP. Thus, $888,889 goes directly into the prize pool.

“The inaugural event made history and I look forward to another historic moment again this June,” said event co-founder, ONE DROP Founder, and inaugural participant, Guy Laliberté. “The support from the poker community continues to be just incredible.”

“Amazingly I lost a million dollars in this event in 2012 but still had a great time,” said investor Bill Perkins. “Little do the others know, but that was all part of a plan to set them up for this year. I’m calling my shot now. I will win the 2014 BIG ONE for ONE DROP.”

A list of additional players will be announced as the event nears. Those interested in signing up are encouraged to contact Alexandre Meunier at ONE DROP (alexandre.meunier@onedrop.org) or Ty Stewart at the WSOP (tystewart@caesars.com). The 56-seat cap will be enforced, and those first to register will be guaranteed seats. The list of confirmed players includes eight businessmen, 12 professionals, and three satellite seats.

The list of committed players thus far are:

1. Antonio Esfandiari

2. Guy Laliberté

3. Bobby Baldwin

4. David Einhorn

5. Phil Galfond

6. Philipp Gruissem

7. Phil Ivey

8. Jason Mercier

9. Paul Newey

10. Bill Perkins

11. Vivek Rajkumar

12. Brian Rast

13. Andrew Robl

14. Erik Seidel

15. Brandon Steven

16. Sam Trickett

17. Noah Schwartz

18. Anonymous Businessman

19. Anonymous Businessman

20. Anonymous Businessman

21. Aria Resort Satellite Seat

22. Bellagio Resort Satellite Seat

23. World Series of Poker Satellite Seat

Source: www.wsop.com