GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway Betting Odds

Written by:
Published on:
Apr/29/2017 has your betting on the GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway.

Event: NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series – GEICO 500

Date: Sunday, May 7th, 2017; 2:00 PM ET

Location: Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, AL

TV: Fox

Scroll Down for More….

The GEICO 500 is the first of 2 Cup races to be run at Talladega Superspeedway,. It has always been a 500-mile race, and the 188 laps around Talladega are always intense with accidents always around the corner..

Talladega Superspeedway is the largest track in NASCAR. It is banked at 33 degrees in Turns 1 and 2, 32.4 degrees in Turn 3, 32.5 degrees in Turn 4, 16.5 degrees through the tri-oval and 3 degrees down the back straightaway.

it is one of 2 tracks in NASCAR to use restrictor plates, which limits how fast cars can go. This means drivers draft around in packs, which can lead to the “Big One”, a major accident that takes out multiple cars.

While a lot of drivers do not like Talladega because it is essentially a lottery, the fans love the excitement of Talladega.

Starting position does not matter much at Talladega, where 6 of the last 10 winners in the spring and the fall have started 10th or higher on the grid.

Most drivers just try to survive until the last few laps, when everyone makes their move

Previous Winners

Last year Brad Keselowski picked up his second win of 2016 at Talladega, starting seventh and leading a race-high 46 laps.

Kyle Busch was next, and the top 5 was rounded out by Austin Dillon, Jamie McMurray and Chase Elliott, who won the pole and led 27 laps.

As usual, there were plenty of spills and thrills at Talladega, where there was a seven-car wreck in the middle of the race, and then the “Big One” finally struck later in the race, involving 21 cars, and there was another wreck as Keselowski was coming to the checkered flag.

Jeff Gordon's 4 wins in the Talladega spring race leads the way, followed by a host of drivers with 3 wins: both Earnhardts (Dale Sr. And Dale Jr.), both Allisons (Bobby and Davey), Buddy Baker, and Brad Keselowski.

Darrell Waltrip, Cale Yarborough, Mark Martin and Jimmie Johnson have each won this race twice.

Past Winners (Last Five)

Year Winner Team

2016 Brad Keselowski Team Penske

2015 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Hendrick Motorsports

2014 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing

2013 David Ragan Front Row Sports

2012 Brad Keselowski Penske Racing

Sports News