Daytona 500 Betting Picks - 2016

Written by:
Published on:
Daytona 500 Betting Picks - 2016 has your Daytona 500 betting picks for Sunday February 21, 2016.  Watch the video preview below and place your bets at here.

Daytona 500 Odds

Dale Earnhardt Jr. 5-1

Jimmie Johnson 8-1

Kevin Harvick 8-1

Joey Logano 9-1

Brad Keselowski 12-1

Kyle Busch 12-1

Matt Kenseth 12-1

Denny Hamlin 12-1

Elliott on the Pole

Chase Elliott is on the pole for the Daytona 500 but being on the pole hasn’t meant much in terms of winning the Daytona 500 recently. And Elliott is also a rookie and the list of rookies winning this race is very small. Trevor Bayne did win in 2011 but he didn’t start from the pole. No rookie pole winner has ever won the race and only two have even finished in the Top 10. The good news for Elliott is that he is in the Hendrick Motorsports powerhouse and that means he has teammates Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, and Dale Earnhardt Jr. He also has the Hendrick power under the hood.

Scroll Down For More

Hamlin Looking to Break JGR Daytona Drought

The hopes are high this year for Joe Gibbs Racing to win the Daytona 500. It has been a long time since JGR won the race with the last winner being Dale Jarrett in 1993. Hamlin won the Sprint Unlimited and he has four straight top six finishes at Daytona. “We have certainly shown that we have the speed in the car that we need to win at Daytona.” Hamlin said, “It’s just a matter of putting it all together in the big race on Sunday. We have put ourselves in position to win the Daytona 500 the last few years, but it hasn’t all come together yet. There are so many other variables involved that need to go your way to win the 500, and hopefully they will come together for our FedEx team this weekend.”

Daytona 500 Notes

This will be the 58th running of the Daytona 500 and it has been the season-opening race since 1982. 36 different drivers have won the Daytona 500 and 11 drivers have won the race more than once led by Richard Petty who won the race seven times. Joey Logano is the defending champion and only three drivers in history have defended their title. Dale Earnhardt Jr. has the best average finish of any active driver. Nine of the previous 57 races have been won from the pole but none since 2000. No active driver has ever won the race from the pole. 16 of the 57 races have been won from the front row while 28 of the 57 races have been won from a top-five starting position.

Sports News

Pay Per Head Summer Fight Betting Odds - 2024

The summer of 2024 presents a number of blockbuster fights both on the boxing and UFC side of the spectrum.  That being said, two of the more highly anticipated bouts have either been canceled or postponed to a later date.