American Pharoah Preakness Post Position One has Only Seen One Winner

Written by:
Ean Lamb
Published on:
American Pharoah Preakness Post Position One has Only Seen One Winner

The post position draw took place Wednesday for the 2015 Preakness Stakes with American Pharoah being rewarded the dreaded number one post. 

Only one of the last 54 Preakness winners has started from the number one post position.

"I never like the 1 hole," trainer Bob Baffert, who has won the Preakness five times, said. "That's the first time I've ever drawn the rail here. I've been so lucky. You don't like to see it, but if he's the best horse we'll find out."

The Preakness Stakes post positions are typically less significant than those of the Kentucky Derby, though post position number one tends to be an exception to that rule.  This is a shorter race with a smaller field of contenders.

Here are your 2015 Preakness Stakes post positions:

1. American Pharoah (126) Espinoza/Baffert 4-5

2. Dortmund (126) Garcia/Baffert 7-2

3. Mr. Z (126) Nakatani/Lukas 20-1

4. Danzig Moon (126) Leparoux/Casse 15-1

5. Tale of Verve (126) Rosario/Stewart 30-1

6. Bodhisattva (126) McCarthy/Corrales 20-1

7. Divining Rod (126) Castellano/Delcaour 12-1

8. Firing Line (126) Stevens/Callaghan 4-1

- Ean Lamb,

Horse Racing News

Kentucky Derby Preps Betting Previews for 2024

You don’t just saunter into the starting gate at the Kentucky Derby. You have to earn your way in with solid performances (and points) in prep races. The last three major “prelims” ahead of Derby 150 at Churchill Downs all go this Saturday afternoon.