World Cup 2010 Betting at betED.com

Written by:
Published on:
World Cup 2010 Betting

The World Cup 2010 is here and the first game has already gone off with a draw while Uruguay was set to meet France in a Friday afternoon showdown.  Betting on the World Cup 2010 was available at betED.com here.

The online sportsbook has a wide array of bets available for the FIFA World Cup in South Africa, with overall winner odds, individual game odds, group winner odds, and one of the biggest selections of World Cup prop bets among online sportsbooks.

Billions will be bet on the World Cup 2010 over the course of the next few weeks.  Great Britain alone, which is home to some of the world's largest bookmakers, is expecting around $4 billion to be bet, and that might be a conservative figure.

betED.com World Cup Odds have Spain and Brazil as co-favorites to win what is the most widely watched sports event on the planet, far surpassing the Super Bowl and the Summer Olympics.  Spain was getting the most betting action throughout Europe.

Both countries are at +400 moneyline odds to come out on top in the championship final game on July 11.  The payout would be US$40 on a US$10 bet.

England and Argentina are next, both at +650. The USA is way back at +7500.

Brazil is the No. 1 ranked team in the world entering competition, and is the all-time leader in World Cup standings. Brazil's first game is against Korea on Tuesday.

The Brazilians have won five World Cup titles (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002), and have two runner-ups (1950, 1998), two third-place finishes (1938, 1978), and one fourth (1974).

Spain has not traditionally been a strong team in World Cup play, ranking 24th all time, but that could change in South Africa, as Spain comes in ranked right behind Brazil at No. 2 .

Spain is arguably the hottest team heading into the World Cup, winning all 10 of its World Cup qualifying matches after winning the 2008 Euro and making it to the semifinals of the 2009 Confederation Cup.

England is a perennial favorite but has just one World Cup title - and that was 44 years ago, when the English beat West Germany 4-2 in the 1966 final. The English were string in qualifying, winning nine of 10, and scored the most goals in the European Zone with 34 goals during qualification.

Argentina has won the World Cup twice, in 1978 against The Netherlands and in 1986 against West Germany, and ranks fourth all-time in World Cup play.

Check out World Cup Betting at betED.com.


FIFA World Cup News