Online Gambling Firms Unaware of Lawsuits

Gambling911.com's report Monday that a number of online gambling establishments had been named in complaints filed in a Louis Federal Court caught some off guard.  BetCRIS had no idea they were parties in the action.

"This is the first I am hearing about this," an executive from BetCRIS told Gambling911 late Monday.

On April 25, 2008 a lawsuit was filed against seven online-gaming companies alleging infringement of U.S. Patent No. 5,564,001, titled “Method and System for Interactively Transmitting Information Over A Network Which Requires Reduced Bandwidth.”

The claim was brought on behalf of First Technology, the same complainant who successfully obtained the Bodog.com domain names in another court. 

The defendants include four Costa Rican companies: Digital Gaming Solutions SA, Costa Rica International Sports, Action Poker Gaming Enterprises and SBG Global; two Norwegian companies: Playsafe Holding AS and eCom Enterprises; and Digital Gaming Network, Ltd., which is based in Curacao.

This action introduces a new legal partner of 1st Technology -- Simon Passanate PC: a major U.S. law firm based in St. Louis, Missouri, with a strong track record of enforcing IP and other types of civil litigation.

"Our initial goal here, as in all of our cases, is to reach swift and fair settlements that respect our intellectual property rights for companies with U.S. facing operations and utilize our patents," Scott Lewis, Proprietor of 1st Technology told Gambling911.com in a written statement.  "As in past instances, if we are unable to reach a swift resolution of the dispute, we move forward quickly and apply all of our resources to enforce all of our U.S. legal rights and avenues to protect our American intellectual property."

In the past, 1st Technology has settled its differences with Sportingbet PLC and other online gambling firms.  It was unclear at press time how those companies named in the latest complaint would proceed.  Bodog continues to ignore the matter against them, claiming they were never properly served.  However, that organization was forced to acquire a new domain name (BodogLife.com) after all of its Bodog.com related URLs had been abruptly cut off last year.

-----

Christopher Costigan, Gambling911.com Publisher CCostigan@CostiganMedia.com

Originally published May 6, 2008 7:52 am EST

 

 

Recent Related News

Online Gambling Firms Unaware of Lawsuits Gambling911.com's report Monday that a number of online gambling establishments had been named in complaints filed in a Louis Federal Court caught some off guard.  BetCRIS had no idea they were parties in the action.